Just as every parent, I care about the well-being of my child and I prefer my daughter having fresh fruit juice, instead of processed alternatives. However, squeezing only a single glass of orange juice every morning, with all the preperations before and cleaning after, is a tedious job.

The natural solution is squeezing orange juice in larger amounts and storing it. But this time, I was worried whether the vitamin C was preserved, when the juice was sitting in the freezer. Thus, I did a small research about it through the web and got more than I was after.

My most important finding was that the juice contained about only 10% of the vitamin C, which is carried by the orange. On the other hand, the pulp contained about 40%, which naturally leads to putting more pulp in the juice. The remaining half of the vitamin C is hidden in the white skin, just under the oranges’ outer peel. I was delighted with this fact, since I always peel the orange very thin, so that I can first eat the white skin.

About storing the orange juice, we have good news. The orange juice gets oxidated and lose its’ nutrituous benefits, only when it is exposed to light and oxygen for a long time. This means that a tightly closed container kept in the fridge protects the vitamin C in the fresh orange juice.

I am happier, as I can squeeze the orange juice once a week and serve it daily to my sweet girl. However, she is not very happy about all the pulp that I am trying to put in her juice.

 

Bir Cevap Yazın

